President Buhari approves new appointments


President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday approved the nomination of Engineer Ahmed Kadi Amshi (Yobe State – North-East), as the Chairman of the National Assembly Service Commission (NASC).

The request to President Buhari to approve the appointment of Amshi and other members of the Commission was earlier made by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Buhari in a letter also requested the Senate to confirm the appointments of two additional nominees as members of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON).

Members of the NASC, according to the letter read by Lawan during plenary include Babagana Modu (Borno – North East), Senator Abubakar Tutare, Taraba- North-East), Hakeem Akamo (Lagos – South West), Tunrayo Akintomide (Ondo – South West), Atanomeyorwi Francis (Delta – South-South) and Engr. Bassey Etuk (Akwa Ibom – South-South).

Others are Hon. Bailyaminu Yusuf Shinkafi (Zamfara – North West), Sani Saidu Kazaure (Jigawa – North West), Senator Julius Ucha (Ebonyi – South East), Nnamdi Anyaehie (Imo – South East), Auwalu Aliyu Ohindase (Kogi – North-Central and Muazu Is’haq (Nasarawa – North Central).

Buhari’s letter reads in part: “Further to your letters NASS/9th/S/SP/PRE/1/NASC/06/11/19 dated November 6, 2019, and NASS/9tg/S/SP/PRE/1/NASC/25/11/19 dated 25th November 2019, I write to convey my approval of your nominations for the appointments of Chairman and Commissioners of the National Assembly Service Commission

“The nominees for the positions by the leadership of the 8th National Assembly under Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki were not approved by Buhari.

According to the 1999 constitution, as amended, the Senate President in consultation with the Speaker of the House of Representatives nominates the Chairman and members of the NASC which is then approved by the President.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here